Poseidon; The DaVinci Code; The Devil Wears Prada; The Lady in the Water

There are a couple more blockbusters from last summer to talk about, so ah, lets talk about ‘em.

 

Poseidon – directed by Wolfgang Peterson who has become typecast as the director for any movie to take place around water. Das Boot, The Perfect Storm and now this remake. That’s right it’s a remake. Were you fooled with by the absence of “adventure” from the title? Bet you thought it was a completely different kind of movie. Lots of action. Lots of almost drowning sequences and a couple actual drowning sequences including one of the most shocking moments I’ve witness with an actor I’m quite fond of, but will fail to mention because I’d hate to spoil that little surprise.

 

The DaVinci Code – A whole lotta something was made about this supposed controversial film. This I don’t mind spoiling. Jesus had a wife. Who’s to say he didn’t? why not? And more important. Why not? What I find confusing is that a group of people who place infinite importance on family are enraged by the suggestion that their savior was a family man. This world confuses the hell out of me.

 

The Devil Wears Prada – Jim made me see this one. He’s gotta big crush on that gal that stars in it. What do you want me to say about this film? Yes I formed a small crush myself on the charming young lady. The movie was funny at parts cliché at other parts, to be expected. There are only so many places a film like this is gonna go and further there are only so many options the writers had. Couldn’t throw too many surprises in a film made for teenage girls. They wanna smile and I’m sure a few of ‘em did. I wanted to see the Break Up that night for the record, however I still haven’t seen that one. Suppose I’ll catch it on video. Did you want to know that?

 

Lady in the Water – I don’t know what all the complaining was about. I had a great time. Great characters, funny dialogue, sentimental dialogue, fairy tale kind of feeling and the guy made this movie for his kids. Gotta love that. Last time I heard of a writer makin’ a movie based on something they made up for their kids was William Goldman’s The Princess Bride. Little known fact: Goldman has two daughters, he asked each of them what the story should be about and one of them wanted a story about a princess and the other wanted a story about a…it’s too unbelievable to hear. Never mind.

 

Hope you all enjoyed your summer. If you didn’t try harder next year.

~ by fumikaelson on September 25, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
