Brick; A Scanner Darkly; Little Miss Sunshine

In the middle of summer the good people at Kimball’s Twin Peak Theater were good enough to feature a few non-blockbusters that I was very happy to see.

 

Brick – This is a neo-noir high school murder mystery with a twist of Bogart style dialogue and so much old time slang you’ll need an index to keep up. I little dull in the middle, but interesting enough for me. Again I give you no supporting material. Bet you’re becoming real self reliant.

 

A Scanner Darkly – from the writer of Blade Runner and Total Recall and the Director of Waking Life and Dazed and Confused comes something that will no doubt blow your mind. This movie is glossed over with a style of animation that makes the film look real enough, but also gives you the desired druggy feeling as well. I’d like to explain it, but I’d rather just have you see it and then remind me of how good it is later. Thanks.

 

Little Miss Sunshine – This is the best film I’ve seen this year. It’s a fine line between Comedy and Drama. Often when films try to walk this line the comedy falls flat and the drama is laughable. This movie was funny from start to finish and each character (there’s about 6 or 7 of them) is completely developed and engaging and lovable. This was the best surprise at the movies for me in a long time.

 

And I’m spent. All caught up. Suppose I’ll go see something tonight. Not that you needed to know about that because chances are you won’t hear about it for another 6 months. Okay hey take it easy.

~ by fumikaelson on September 25, 2006.

One Response to “Brick; A Scanner Darkly; Little Miss Sunshine”

  1. Don’t get me wrong, I love the latter two, but Brick easily surpasses both. It is stylized better than Scanner and more evocative than LMS. Brick is in the running for film of the decade for me, a list which cannot be bothered with stereotyping comedies and gimicky sci-fi.

Leave a Reply

 
