Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Warner Bros. presents a film directed by Mike Newell. Written by Steve Kloves, based on the novel by J.K. Rowling. Running time: 157 minutes. Rated PG-13 (for sequences of fantasy violence and frightening images).

 

I begin again today with more “make-up” writing than ever before. The chips are down, my back’s to the wall but my hair looks great. For most of the films I am about to review it has been some time since I saw them. All excuses aside we begin as I began my very first film review, with a Harry Potter film. That’s right, it seems like only yesterday that you were reading my very first film review, that of Harry Potter and the Something or Another.

 

Who knew that I’d still be at it, but ever since June 8th 2004 I have written a film review for every film I’ve seen at the theater since that point in time with one exception. The only film I have not reviewed that I saw in theaters was Born into Brothels. There is no special significance for the absence of this review. There is a note card I keep on my desk that keeps a list of all the films I see in the theater and it just so happened that I forgot to write that particular one down. Hence no review. It’s been on DVD for some time now, so you’ve all had your chance. It’s a wonderful documentary about the children of prostitutes and what their lives are like when a photographer teaches them to take pictures and tries to get them out of the brothels. It’s heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time to see some of them succeed and break out and others fall victim to their mothers.

 

There are now four Harry Potter films available to you now so I assume you don’t need to hear much about the new one. By now you either know you like them or you do not. For those of you who click here for my opinion, I believe that the films have gotten better each time. This story keeps building momentum and strength and continually gets more interesting with each new teacher, challenge and villain. This most recent film features what I’ve been waiting four films for, the appearance of super bad guy “V” who we dare not even mention his name.

 

Like I said with the first review, this is truly the most creative and important work and story for children since Star Wars or the Wizard of Oz. I am continually captivated and I am waiting with the anticipation of Christmas Morning for each succeeding chapter.

~ by fumikaelson on January 24, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
