Millions

Fox Searchlight Pictures presents a film directed by Danny Boyle. Written by Frank Cottrell Boyce. Running time: 97 minutes. Rated PG (for thematicelements, language, some peril and mild sensuality).

 

After seeing this preview many times I began to grow weary of the innocent, freckle faced star of the film. Nevertheless I saw this movie. Of course I saw this movie. Have I written a review for a film I haven’t seen? For the three seconds it took me to write that sentence I thought it might be funny if I wrote a review for a film I haven’t seen, but upon reflection I find the very idea unethical. What would Saint Peter think of me?

 

The most surprising thing about this film was that despite the over exposure I had to the preview this film was amazingly fresh, entertaining and never dull. This film was directed by Trainspotting director Danny Boyle. This director has a talent for performance, flare and symbolic overtones as seen in previous efforts A Life Less Ordinary and The Beach.

 

This film does get a bit touchy feely, but it’s the spirit that this film maintains that makes it all okay in the end.

 

You might notice, particularly in this review, the absence of much detail of plot. This is a conscience omission. As all my readers know, I much prefer to give you the feeling of a film and a little history or theory rather than the actually story. One reason is that I’d like you to be as surprised as you can by what you see and another reason is that when one hears a story they will often make assumptions and perceive something different than what they are about to see. It’s more important to me that you understand how to take a film in emotionally because therein lies the point.

~ by fumikaelson on June 21, 2005.

One Response to “Millions”

  1. I’ve been waiting to see this – I may wait for the DVD. Looked like my kind of flick.

    So do we get to hear about the Raiders Experience?

    I saw Layer Cake on Tuesday – it was “great”. Hope you get a chance to see it. And I might note the popcorn at Kimball’s was better than usual.

Leave a Reply

 
