The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

dontpanic.jpg

Touchstone Pictures presents a film directed by Garth Jennings. Screenplay by Douglas Adams and Karey Kirkpatrick, based on the book by Adams. Running time: 110 minutes. Rated PG (for thematic elements, action and mild language).

 

I once said about the Lord of the Rings movies that they were poorly written. This was combated with “Oh, so you think J.R.R. Tolkien is a bad writer?” I condescended and asked, “Did J.R. write the movies, cause if he did, tell me. I’m right here. Come on. Tell me.” I’m not saying Lord Tolkien was a bad writer. I’m saying that the experience of a book and the experience of a movie can and most likely will be two different things.

 

This book, which I haven’t read is obviously full of wit and ideas. I will spare you the paragraph on how a movie needs to contain certain mechanics in order to tell a story effectively and an ending that is a little more than characters falling over in apathy.

 

Thinking back I’ve remembered that I am for the most part a pretty positive person, that is when I’m not being negative. On the positive side the special effects and creature design make this film well worth watching at least twice. Instead of animating all the alien creatures this film went Jim Henson style and made them flesh and teeth and shit. They looked great and reminded my of all the creature work that used to exist in films such as Labyrinth and Legend.

 

In the end it’s a funny film with more ideas than its target audience is used to hearing.

~ by fumikaelson on June 20, 2005.

One Response to “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”

  1. i love to hear what you think of the films you see. i don’t understand the j.r.r. tolken joke. am i missing something or is there a typo? you’re always very honest in what you think which is why i enjoy reading these. thanks for the cerebral stimulation.

Leave a Reply

 
