Hitch

Columbia presents a film directed by Andy Tennant. Written by Kevin Bisch. Running time: 119 minutes. Rated PG-13 (for language and some strong sexual references). Opening today in local theaters.

 

Here we go, a good movie. I was surprised to see my old friend Andy Tennant directed this movie. I first knew Andy in a little film called Midnight Madness, which is more famous for featuring a very very young Michael J. Fox. Andy played a goofy sidekick to the bad guy and I always thought he was the funniest guy in the movie. The only problem is when I would talk about him, that guy “you know” from Midnight Madness, I didn’t really get much of a response.

 

Anyway Mr. Tennant has gone on to direct some pretty good movies, such as Ever After, Fools Rush In and a few episodes from Parker Lewis Can’t Lose.

 

Hitch reminded me of the film Alfie, (the remake with Jude Law). A lot of talking to the camera and a lot of suggestions to the fact that they have the inside track when it comes to women. Where I didn’t think Alfie was much of a character, just an asshole, Hitch turned out to be the complete opposite. I actually like Will Smith in a role more than Jude Law. Wow.

 

This is a light movie with not so surprising moments. But it’s also a movie that doesn’t play down to it’s light tone. It has moments of real honesty and real sincerity that make it far and away better than most other film of it’s kind.

 

I don’t have much else to say about this film and the last paragraph didn’t seem like any way to end a review so I’d like to end with a little bit about my day. I got out of bed, had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, watched an episode of South Park, took a shower and sat down at my computer to write a few reviews, one of which you’re reading. Hope you’re all having the same kind of wonderful day I’m having.

 

Ps.

 

I used to refer to Eva Mendes as the poor man’s Jennifer Esposito. Eva’s come a long way. That’s not to say I like Esposito any less it’s just to say that Mendes is so hot right now.

~ by fumikaelson on May 17, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
