Spanglish

co9.jpg

Columbia Pictures presents a film written and directed by James L. Books. Running time: 129 minutes. Rated PG-13 (some sexual content and brief language).

 

Someone recently said to me that no one really cares about who directs a movie. I realize that no one knows who directed something, but to say that no one cares about it is just really insensitive. Maybe the world is just insensitive. Picture this me and you standing outside a theater. We’ve just seen Spanglish. I say to you “Hey, I’d like you to meet a friend of mine, James L. Brooks.” You say “Nice to meet you, James.” I say “Hey, you know my friend James here wrote and directed the movie we just saw.” You say, “Who gives a fuck?” You see, insensitive. I know I’m not friends with Mr. Brooks, but I’d like to be and saying that you don’t give a shit about someone who I wouldn’t mind being friends with is not only rude to him, it’s rude to me.

 

This guy did As Good As It Gets, Terms of Endearment and he’s a co-creator of The Simpson’s. What more must this man do to earn your fucking respect? This doesn’t just go for James, but all the other directors out there putting out consistently good work. I’d name them now but being that this is or is supposed to be a review for Spanglish I think it would be a little insensitive to focus on anyone other than who was involved in this film. Which is, I’ll finally say, really good. I’m surprised that more people haven’t gone to see this movie and furthermore haven’t returned to me saying how much they liked it. This movie is just what you’d expect from this writer. It’s funny, but not phony, it’s endearing, but not cheesy, it’s great, but not perfect. And you know I haven’t even started in on how perfect Paz Vega’s breasts are yet. Which they are. Round, but not symmetrical, soft, but not squishy, perfect, but not sculpted.

 

A lot of films are called feel good comedies, which is often just a euphemism for chick flick. This film is genuinely the feel good comedy of the season. Why? Cause it makes you feel goooood.

~ by fumikaelson on December 28, 2004.

One Response to “Spanglish”

  1. I hate those insensitive bastards. You make a valid point, as always, more people including me should show the respect.

    By the way do you know who directed Alter Ego?

Leave a Reply

 
