Wimbledon

wimbledon.jpg

Universal presents a film directed by Richard Loncraine. Written by Adam Brooks, Jennifer Flackett and Mark Levin.Running time: 98 minutes. Rated PG-13 (for language, sexuality and partial nudity).

The luckiest guy I know. Paul Bettany and I are currently not on speaking terms. Most of you know he married my wife and since that day you’ve all seen a part of me die. All personal feelings aside I think this guy is a great actor and I stress great. He was first noticed as the scene stealing Geoffrey Chaucer in A Knight’s Tale and then received global recognition for appearing next to Russell Crowe in A Beautiful Mind. Combine his talents with the fun and fancy free and Gyllenhallless Kirsten Dunst and you’ve got yourself a might fine tennis movie. It happens every time. I see an interview with Dunst and she says something incredibly arrogant or stupid and I can’t stand her, but on screen she is a wonderful actress to watch. Not only because she’s beautiful, but damn it man she is talented. Two actors I hate off the screen and a sport I only mildly enjoy yet I really liked this movie. It wasn’t earth shattering. It is just a small romantic love conquers anything story. This is shown by the lack of tennis in this film. I’ll say first that there are several volleys in several matches of tennis that are great to watch, but this film mostly consists of the romance story between the two leads and the families of these two players. Having just returned from London I really appreciated seeing familiar sights again. The film looks pretty and is shot well. What annoyed me about this film was the lack of tennis. The editor focuses only on winning shots rather than the fun volleys that the clever opening titles led us into expecting.

 

Either way this film serves up smiles and is an ace in the heart. Did you like that attempt at being cliché? No? Well in the words of my friend John McEnroe…”Fuck you, you’re fucking crazy! The ball was fucking in you old blind cockhead!”

~ by fumikaelson on October 6, 2004.

One Response to “Wimbledon”

  1. YOU’RE FRIENDS WITH JOHN MACENROE!!? DO YOU THINK YOU COULD GET ME SOME TICKETS TO SIT IN THE AUDIENCE AT HIS SHOW? I WOULD BE FOREVER IN DEBT.

Leave a Reply

 
